History: Interprovincial Tournament

At Interprovincial Tournament level which started in 1976. It has been a mixed bag for us here in Connacht where we featured in a number of finals in the early days, and now again in recent years we have been to the top.

In 1977 we were runners up to Munster. We won the next two titles in 1978 and 1979 by beating Leinster. It was 1984 when we appeared again in the final where Munster beat us again. In 1989 Leinster beat us. It took us until 1997 to reach the final stages again where we contested four finals in a row.

We beat the Combined Colleges in Castlebar in 1997, 1998 Leinster beat us, 1999 Ulster beat us, and 2000 we beat Leinster.

The competition was not played for in 2001 due to the Foot and Mouth epidemic.

In 2002 Ulster and Connacht contested the final with the honors going up North.

In the Interprovincial Shield we contested seven finals. 2003, 2007 & 2012 Leinster beat us. 2004 we beat Ulster in a penalty shootout and in 2005 and 2009 Ulster returned the complements by beating us. 2006 we were beaten by Munster. We did not enter a competition in 2008 or 2010. 2011 we won the Shield competition by defeating Leinster.